Review of "Supergirl: The Complete Second Season" From The TV MegaSite
 

The TV MegaSite, Inc.  TV Is Our Life!



Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!





Quantcast

MainNewsInterviews & ArticlesReviewsOur ShowsLinksCommunityStarsPolls
AutographsPhotosWallpapersPuzzles & GamesEpisode GuidesVideosOtherBuy!


WELCOME to The TVMEGASITE.NET
Primetime TV DVD Reviews Pages

 DVD Reviews


Supergirl 2nd season DVD cover

 

Supergirl: The Complete Second Season

 Review by Suzanne Lanoue 8/15/17

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own!

I've loved this show since the first season, but the second season got even better.  The writing is tighter and the stories more interesting.

I'm probably in the minority on this, but I don't really like Cat Grant. I find her annoying. So her leaving was one of the reasons the second season got better.  Bringing in Mon-El and his family was also a great idea. Having Jimmy and Wynn team up as superheroes was also inspired.  It's also great that they finally cast Superman.

I'm glad to have the second season on Blu-Ray. I never miss an episode, but I enjoy collecting superhero TV shows and movies. The DVD has five featurettes as well as commentary. They are all worth watching! Especially if you're a Supergirl fan. I grew up reading Superman and Supergirl comics, so I'm glad they have a great show about them. I hope we see more Superman next season, too!

MORE INFORMATION:

The Sky's the Limit!

Supergirl:
The Complete Second Season


Own It On Blu-ray & DVD August 22, 2017

Includes New Featurettes,
2016 Comic-Con Panel, and More!

BURBANK, CA (May 24, 2017) - Just in time for the third season on The CW, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment brings you all-new Super-Villains and more family drama with the release of Supergirl: The Complete Second Season on Blu-ray and DVD on August 22, 2017. Delivering 4.2 million Total Viewers weekly, Supergirl is the #2 series on The CW, just after The Flash for Live+7(Source: Nielsen National TV View L+7 US AA%; excluding repeats, specials, sports, and <5 TCs; Season To-Date = 10/10/16-11/28/16). Fans can purchase the set which, in addition to all 22 super-powered episodes, contains an exclusive commentary with Andrew Kreisberg and Kevin Smith, the show's 2016 Comic-Con panel, featurettes, and more! Supergirl: The Complete Second Season is priced to own at $49.99 SRP for the DVD and $54.97 SRP for the Blu-ray which includes a Digital Copy.

Having left the safety of being Cat Grant's assistant at Catco Worldwide Media, in order to figure out what she really wants to do, Kara Danvers (Melissa Benoist) continues to work with Hank Henshaw aka Martian Manhunter (David Harewood) and her adoptive sister Alex (Chyler Leigh) at the DEO as Supergirl...protecting the citizens of National City and searching for her missing father, Jeremiah (Dean Cain), and the secret research lab Cadmus. Along the way, she will team up with her Kryptonian cousin Kal El - aka Superman (Tyler Hoechlin) - to battle new DC Super-Villains both terrestrial and extraterrestrial, as she strives to balance her personal life with friends/allies James Olsen (Mehcad Brooks), Winn Schott (Jeremy Jordan) and more, with her busy life as a new Super Hero in SUPERGIRL Season Two.

"After two strong seasons, Supergirl continues to develop a strong fan following," said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, Television Marketing. "We're excited to release the Blu-ray and DVD with in-depth bonus content in addition to the 22 action packed episodes. Fans and newcomers alike can catch up on all their favorite moments from Season Two, and prepare for the highly anticipated third season of this hit series."

With Blu-ray's unsurpassed picture and sound, the Blu-ray release of Supergirl: The Complete Second Season will include 1080p Full HD Video with DTS-HD Master Audio for English 5.1. The 4-disc Blu-ray will feature a high-definition Blu-ray and a Digital Copy of all 22 episodes from season two.

Supergirl stars Melissa Benoist (Glee), Mehcad Brooks (About Last Night), Chyler Leigh (Grey's Anatomy), Jeremy Jordan (Smash) and Floriana Lima (Lethal Weapon), with Chris Wood (Containment) and David Harewood (Homeland). Based on the characters from DC Comics by special arrangement with the Jerry Siegel family, Supergirl is produced by Berlanti Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television, with executive producers Greg Berlanti, Andrew Kreisberg, Ali Adler, Sarah Schechter and Robert Rovner.

22 ONE-HOUR EPISODES:
  1. The Adventures of Supergirl
  2. The Last Children of Krypton
  3. Welcome to Earth
  4. Survivors
  5. Crossfire
  6. Changing
  7. The Darkest Places
  8. Medusa
  9. Supergirl Lives
  10. We Can Be Heroes
  11. The Martian Chronicles
  12. Luthors
  13. Mr. & Mrs. Mxyzptlk
  14. Homecoming
  15. Exodus
  16. Star-Crossed
  17. Distant Sun
  18. Ace Reporter
  19. Alex
  20. City of Lost Children
  21. Resist
  22. Nevertheless, She Persisted
BLU-RAY & DVD FEATURES:
  • Supergirl: 2016 Comic-Con Panel
  • Supergirl: Alien Fight Night
  • Aliens Among Us
  • A Conversation with Andrew Kreisberg and Kevin Smith
  • "Supergirl Lives" Audio Commentary featuring Andrew Kreisberg and Kevin Smith
  • Did You Know facts for fans
Supergirl: The Complete Second Season
Street Date: August 22, 2017
BD and DVD Presented in 16x9 widescreen format
Running Time: Feature: Approx 968 min
Enhanced Content: Approx107 min

DVD
Price: $49.99 SRP
5 DVDs
Audio - English (5.1)
Subtitles - English SDH, Latin Spanish, French

BLU-RAY
Price: $54.97 SRP
4-Disc Elite 4 BDs
BD Audio - DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 - English
BD Subtitles - English SDH, Latin Spanish, French

About Warner Bros. Home Entertainment, Inc.:
Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE) brings together Warner Bros. Entertainment's home video, digital distribution and interactive entertainment businesses in order to maximize current and next-generation distribution scenarios. An industry leader since its inception, WBHE oversees the global distribution of content through packaged goods (Blu-ray Disc and DVD) and digital media in the form of electronic sell-through and video-on-demand via cable, satellite, online and mobile channels, and is a significant developer and publisher for console and online video game titles worldwide. WBHE distributes its product through third party retail partners and licensees.

About DC Entertainment
DC Entertainment, home to iconic brands DC Comics (Superman, Batman, Green Lantern, Wonder Woman, The Flash, etc.), Vertigo (Sandman, Fables, etc.) and MAD, is the creative division charged with strategically integrating its content across Warner Bros. and Time Warner. DC Entertainment works in concert with many key Warner Bros. divisions to unleash its stories and characters across all media, including but not limited to film, television, consumer products, home entertainment and interactive games. Publishing thousands of comic books, graphic novels and magazines each year, DC Entertainment is one of the largest English-language publishers of comics in the world. Supergirl and all related characters and elements are trademarks of and (c)DC Com

We need more episode guide recap writers, article writers, MS FrontPage and Web Expression users, graphics designers, and more, so please email us if you can help out!  More volunteers always needed!  Thanks!

Page updated 8/23/17

Back to the Main Primetime TV Page

ComedyDramaSci fi and FantasySoap OperasCompetition


Google
 
Web SEARCH THE TV MEGASITE
Bookmark this section!
 
HomeDaytimePrimetimeTradingSite MapBuy!What's New!
Join UsAbout UsContactContestsBlogHelpCommunity