Review of "Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced" From The TV MegaSite
The TV MegaSite banner

 Reviews and Articles banner

Welcome to The TV MegaSite's Primetime TV Site!

(Best viewed in the most recent browser versions--update now!)

Please click on the menus above to browse through our site...

The TV MegaSite--TV Is Our Life (Logo)

PLEASE CLICK TO DONATE TO OUR SITE!!!!



 

 

DVD TV Show Reviews

Robert Klein: Unfair and Unbalance DVD cover

 Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced

 

  Review by Suzanne 12/12/10

Robert Klein is a fine actor, and he can be funny, but he's not exactly cutting-edge comedy. Maybe he was 30 years ago? I don't know, but his current jokes about politics and growing old are pretty lame. I'm not saying I didn't laugh some, but it was not exactly the kind of hysterical laughter that makes me tear up or hold my sides.

I really wanted to love the DVD because I have seen him be funny before, I think, in past stand-up routines. I loved him on "Sisters", too! But alas...

Klein is from the baby boomer age, but he is no George Carlin.  He sings some songs that are supposed to be funny, about politics and issues of the day, which make me wonder if he is trying to be the replacement for Mark Russell. Yep, that's about how funny he is, too.

Most of his jokes were either about politicians who cheat and lie, or about getting old. They just weren't all that funny. Maybe I am too young, not his target audience.  Maybe I am more choosy about my humor. I'm not saying it was a complete waste of my time, but I wouldn't have rushed out to buy this DVD, either.

If you are over 55 and like what I would call mild, gentle humor, then you should probably like this. It is slanted somewhat to the left, and being Jewish might make you laugh at some of his jokes, too, since he makes a few jokes about that.

There are no extras or features on this DVD at all. I hope you enjoy it more than I did!

Press Release:

Comedy legend returns to HBO for his ninth one-man show

ROBERT KLEIN: UNFAIR & UNBALANCED

In Stores, Exclusively from HBO Home Entertainment(r) On December 14, 2010

DVD Available in Time for Holiday Gift-giving

New York, N.Y., October 13, 2010 - Considered by many as the forefather of observational humor, Robert Klein has influenced an entire generation of comedians with his trademark insights, timeless wit, improvisations and musical interludes. Now, in his ninth HBO(r) comedy special Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced, Klein remains true to form, this time with an assist from the Henry Mancini Institute Orchestra at the Amaturo Theater in Fort Lauderdale. Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced will be out in DVD for the suggested retail price of $19.97 on December 14, 2010, just in time for the holidays.

Robert Klein made HBO history when he starred in the network's first On Location(r) stand-up comedy special in 1975. Since then, his wry observations, original songs and bluesy harmonica-playing have made him a favorite of HBO and viewers alike. In Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced, Klein again grapples present-day issues like political indiscretions and hypocrisy in Washington; the challenges of opening plastic packaging; bizarre sales techniques; pharmacological concert experiences; unusual movie love scenes; TV and pop culture; job outsourcing; and, of course, entertains the audience with hilarious musical numbers about Barack Obama, medicinal herbs and gay marriage.

A Bronx native, Klein attended Yale School of Drama and is an alumnus of the famed Second City comedy troupe. He received a Tony Award(r) nomination for They're Playing Our Song and an Obie and Outer Critics Circle Award for The Sisters Rosensweig. He has appeared in dozens of movies including The Owl and the Pussycat, Primary Colors, Two Weeks Notice, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days and, most recently, The Back-up Plan. Klein has also been seen on such TV shows as The Tonight Show and Law and Order: SVU, and has hosted Saturday Night Live twice. Klein received an Emmy(r)-nomination for the song Colonoscopy which he co-wrote for his HBO special Child in His '50s, and also performed on several of the network's Comic Relief(tm) fundraising events.

Marketing and Advertising

Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced will be supported by national promotional and publicity campaigns.

Robert Klein: Unfair & Unbalanced

DVD Street Date: December 14, 2010

Order Date: November 9, 2010

Rating: TV-MA

Runtime: Approx. 60 minutes

Price: $19.97 DVD Suggested Retail Price

About HBO Home Entertainment(r)

In its 25 years in operation, HBO Home Entertainment has earned a worldwide reputation as a pioneer in the DVD industry as well as the digital technology and internet frontiers. The first company to successfully release full-length TV series in the DVD format, HBO Home Entertainment created a new category for consumers with titles like Sex and the City(r), The Sopranos(r), Band of Brothers(r) (which remains the #1 selling TV-on-DVD since its release in 2002), and the most recent hit True Blood(r). In addition, HBO Home Entertainment's catalog contains theatrical features such as My Big Fat Greek Wedding, one of the top 10 selling DVDs of all time. The company was also the first in the world to release television programming in the new Blu-ray high-definition format in 2006. It was also one of the first in the video industry to use the internet to expand its marketing beyond traditional vehicles and to revolutionize DVD packaging with the creation of releases that have won multiple awards including a recent DVD Critics Award for The Sopranos(r): The Complete Series - a first for television. In addition, the division utilizes innovative manufacturing-on-demand technology to broaden its number of releases and sells digital versions of its titles via the internet. Today, HBO Home Entertainment's reach has grown to over 70 countries around the world, bringing HBO branded entertainment to a global audience.


Back to the Main Primetime TV Page


top


Updated 12/12/10  

FEEDBACK

We don't read the guestbook very often, so please don't post QUESTIONS, only COMMENTS, if you want an answer. Feel free to email us with your questions by clicking on the Feedback link above! PLEASE SIGN-->

View and Sign My Guestbook Bravenet Guestbooks

HELP SUPPORT THESE GREAT CAUSES!


Stop Global Warming!

Click to help rescue animals!

Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!

Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign
Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!

Click to donate to the Red Cross!
Please donate to the Red Cross to help disaster victims!

Support Wikipedia

Support Wikipedia    

Save the Net Now



Help Katrina Victims!


[an error occurred while processing this directive]