Review of "Reign: The Complete Fourth Season" From The TV MegaSite
 

The TV MegaSite, Inc.  TV Is Our Life!



Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!





Quantcast

MainNewsInterviews & ArticlesReviewsOur ShowsLinksCommunityStarsPolls
AutographsPhotosWallpapersPuzzles & GamesEpisode GuidesVideosOtherBuy!


WELCOME to The TVMEGASITE.NET
Primetime TV DVD Reviews Pages

 DVD Reviews


Reign: The Complete Fourth Season DVD cover

 

Reign: The Complete Fourth Season

 Review by Suzanne Lanoue 10/10/17

I've enjoyed this show since the first episode. I'm not a history buff, but I know they don't stick to history, really. It's more just a fun teen drama that happens to be set in the 1500's.

This is the last season, which is a shame. I think the reason that their ratings fell has to do with with the fact that they keep getting rid of characters. When the series started, there was a triangle between Mary (Adelaide Kane), Francis (Toby Regbo) and Bash (Torrance Coombs). Both of these handsome guys died in Season 3!  Some convoluted storylines didn't help, either.  The best thing about the show was Megan Follows as Queen Catherine. In the 4th season, Mary went back to Scotland, so the action was then divided between Mary in Scotland and Catherine in France. This made things very confusing.

Although most of the show was a historical drama, it had some fantasy elements as well. However, the fantasy part of the story moved very slowly, so it probably frustrated fans. I'm not saying the show, or this season, isn't worth watching. Far from it. It's very enjoyable.

If you want some fun escapism, this show doesn't disappoint in that regard. Just don't expect the story to make a lot of sense, and don't get attached to the characters! But do watch it for the passion, romance, fantasy and good acting. I would suggest starting with the first season though, so you know what's going on.

If you're particular about history, though, you might not like it because it's more fiction than historical.

MORE INFORMATION:

REIGN:

THE FOURTH AND FINAL SEASON

 

Contains All 16 Deliciously Wicked Episodes Of The Final Season!

Available on DVD October 10, 2017

BURBANK, CA (July 12, 2017) - A King is nothing without his Queen! The story of young Mary Queen of Scots is coming to an end as Warner Bros. Home Entertainment brings Reign: The Fourth and Final Season to DVD on October 10, 2017. Reign stars Megan Follows ("Anne of Green Gables") as Queen Catherine, Adelaide Kane (“Teen Wolf”) as Queen Mary Stuart, Craig Parker ("Lord of The Rings," "Underworld") as Narcisse, Rachel Skarsten  ("50 Shades of Grey") as Queen Elizabeth, Celina Sinden (Newcomer) as Greer, Ben Geurens  ("Winners & Losers") as Gideon, Rose Williams  ("Infinite") as Princess Claude, Dan Jeannotte  ("Good Witch") as James, Jonathan Goad  ("Republic of Doyle") as Knox, Spencer MacPherson  ("Degrassi: Next Class") as Charles, Nick Slater ("Neighbours")  as Prince Henry, Adam Croasdell  ("Eastenders") as Lord Bothwell, and Will Kemp ("Girlfriends Guide To Divorce") as Lord Darnley. The three-disc set contains all 16 one-hour episodes from the fourth season.  Reign: The Fourth and Final Season is priced to own at $24.98 SRP.

Season four of Reign finds Mary rising to the challenge, taking back her country and establishing her rule in Scotland, the land of her birth but a wild nation foreign to her, and now, once again, her home. Even as our canvas expands to welcome a new court in Scotland with new players, including Mary’s half-brother James, and the men who vie for her hand, the French Court grows as well.  Catherine gave France many heirs – too many, as it turns out.  We will meet more of her brood, who are amusingly and dangerously at each other’s throats.  Our queens will make wise choices and knowingly brutal sacrifices; their fates, especially Mary’s and Elizabeth’s, are not only intertwined but increasingly inescapable.  It is a season of impossibly high stakes, unexpected betrayals, sexual exploits, a royal wedding, a royal birth and a rising body count as three queens in three nations fight for their people, their loves, and their lives.

Reign: The Fourth and Final Season is priced to own at $24.98 SRP. Reign: The Complete Series is also available on DVD on October 10, 2017 and will retail for $89.99 SRP. Order due date for both releases is September 5, 2017.

“It’s been an incredible four season run for Reign,” said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, Television Marketing. “The fan base of The CW's beloved costume drama is both passionate and loyal, and they’re going to love this final installment to complete their Reign collection."

Reign: The Fourth and Final Season aired on The CW, and was produced by CBS Television Studios and Whizbang Films/Take 5 Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television with executive producers Laurie McCarthy (“The Ghost Whisperer”), Frank Siracusa (“Beauty And The Beast”), John Weber (“Beauty And The Beast”), Patti Carr (“Beauty and the Beast,” “90210”) and Lara Olson (“Beauty and the Beast,” “90210”).

16 ONE-HOUR EPISODES

  1. With Friends Like These
  2. A Grain of Deception
  3. Leaps of Faith
  4. Playing with Fire
  5. Highland Games
  6. Love & Death
  7. Hanging Swords
  8. Uncharted Waters
  9. Pulling Strings
  10. A Better Man
  11. Dead of Night
  12. The Shakedown
  13. Coup de Grace
  14. A Bride. A Box. A Body.
  15. Blood in the Water
  16. All It Cost Her…

BASICS

$24.98 SRP

Street Date: October 10, 2017

Order Due Date: September 5, 2017

3 DVD-9s

Audio:  English (5.1)

Subtitles:  ESDH

Aspect Ratio: 16 x 9

Approximate running time: Feature - Approx. 720 minutes

REIGN: THE COMPLETE SERIES

Price: $89.99 SRP

17 DVD-9s

Subtitles: English SDH and French

Aspect Ratio: 16x9 Widescreen

Dolby Surround 5.1 (English) 

About Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Inc.

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE) brings together Warner Bros. Entertainment's home video, digital distribution and interactive entertainment businesses in order to maximize current and next-generation distribution scenarios. An industry leader since its inception, WBHE oversees the global distribution of content through packaged goods (Blu-ray Disc™ and DVD) and digital media in the form of electronic sell-through and video-on-demand via cable, satellite, online and mobile channels, and is a significant developer and publisher for console and online video game titles worldwide. WBHE distributes its product through third party retail partners and licensees.

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.”


We need more episode guide recap writers, article writers, MS FrontPage and Web Expression users, graphics designers, and more, so please email us if you can help out!  More volunteers always needed!  Thanks!

Page updated 11/22/17

Back to the Main Primetime TV Page

ComedyDramaSci fi and FantasySoap OperasCompetition


Google
 
Web SEARCH THE TV MEGASITE
Bookmark this section!
 
HomeDaytimePrimetimeTradingSite MapBuy!What's New!
Join UsAbout UsContactContestsBlogHelpCommunity