Review of "Pretty Little Liars: Season 5" From The TV MegaSite
 

The TV MegaSite, Inc.  TV Is Our Life!



Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!





Quantcast

MainNewsInterviews & ArticlesReviewsOur ShowsLinksCommunityStarsPolls
AutographsPhotosWallpapersPuzzles & GamesEpisode GuidesVideosOtherBuy!


WELCOME to The TVMEGASITE.NET
Primetime TV DVD Reviews Pages

 DVD Reviews


Pretty Little Liars: Season 5 DVD cover

 

Pretty Little Liars: Season 5

 Review by Suzanne Lanoue 6/1/15

I've never seen this show before, but it always seemed like one I would enjoy. Even though I haven't seen the first 4 seasons, and I felt a little lost watching this season, it's still very good and enjoyable. The show has good acting and lots of great mystery. The plot twists and turns. There's a large cast, so anyone could be the villain. People die and others get very injured. The writing keeps you on the edge of your seat. That's a pretty good feat for a show that's been around for 5 seasons.

Apparently, it's based on a series of teen books. Although the focus is on the teens, there are some good adults in the cast, too. I loved seeing Nolan North, who was fantastic on "Port Charles" years ago (here's a photo of him and me in 1999). He's not given much to do here, which is a shame. He still looks great, though. Another soap opera actor, Ashley Benson, who was wonderful on "Days of Our Lives," plays Hanna. Tammin Sursok, who played Colleen for a while on "The Young & The Restless," plays Jenna. Natalie Hall, who played Colby on "All My Children", was also on the show for awhile as Kate.  This makes sense because daytime has some really wonderful actors.

The DVD has a lot of cool features that I really enjoyed. See below!

The show does well in the ratings, unlike most shows on ABC Family. I guess that's why it's still around and will be airing for another two seasons. I'm glad to know that it's as good as I'd hoped. I'll have to go buy the first 4 seasons now. I would suggest you do the same if you haven't seen them. It will probably make the 5th season make more sense.

MORE INFORMATION:

Winner of the 2015 People’s Choice Award for Favorite TV Cable Drama and 2014 Teen Choice Award for Choice TV Show – Drama, with Nine Total Nominations

PRETTY LITTLE LIARS:

THE COMPLETE FIFTH SEASON

Includes All 25 One-Hour Episodes, Plus Exclusive Featurettes, Deleted Scenes, And the Fan Appreciation Episode “We Love You To DeAth”

Available on DVD on June 2, 2015

BURBANK, CA (February 18, 2015) – We've got a secret, and we can't keep it! Just in time for the sixth season premiere on ABC Family, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Group releases Pretty Little Liars: The Complete Fifth Season on DVD June 2, 2015. Pretty Little Liars stars Troian Bellisario (Lauren, JAG), Ashley Benson (Spring Breakers), Tyler Blackburn (Ravenswood), Lucy Hale (Scream 4, Privileged), Ian Harding (NCIS: Los Angeles), Laura Leighton (Melrose Place), Shay Mitchell (Aaron Stone), Janel Parrish (Celeste and Jesse Forever, Bratz) and Sasha Pieterse (Heroes, X-Men: First Class). The five-disc set contains all 25 episodes from the fifth season, plus new behind-the-scenes featurettes, deleted scenes, and a fan appreciation episode titled “We Love You to DeAth.” Pretty Little Liars: The Complete Fifth Season is priced to own at $59.98 SRP and has an order due date of April 28, 2015.


Season five of Pretty Little Liars begins in the moments following the epic season four finale, in which Ezra was shot, among other shocking acts and revelations. Alison is alive and back in Rosewood, and everyone is affected by her return — but is she the same Alison after being on the run? Hanna’s ex, Caleb, returns, but he, too, is changed. Plus, how does Mona fit into everything and what is Melissa (guest star Torrey DeVitto) hiding? With more questions than ever and other familiar faces back in Rosewood, there are now five pretty little liars trying to piece together who has been tormenting them. It’s sure to be another season of emotion, intrigue and nail-biting suspense, with many must-see moments, including the series’ landmark 100th episode.

 

"Fans will be thrilled with the nearly two hours of all-new bonus content that we have included on the Season 5 DVD," said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, Television Marketing. “From a look at the creation of the Ice Ball to the 100th episode celebration and interviews with the Liars themselves, fans get an inside look like never before. Pretty Little Liars continues to be one of the most talked-about shows on cable and we’re thrilled to help the fans relive all the shocking moments on DVD."

Pretty Little Liars is ABC Family’s #1 series in all Households, Total Viewers, Teens & Female Teens, and Adults & Women 12-34, 18-34 and 18-49. Season 5 is averaging 3.4M viewers⃰, and the show won the 2015 People’s Choice Award for Favorite Cable TV Drama; it was nominated for the same award in 2012, 2013 and 2014, also winning in 2012. Lucy Hale also won the 2014 People’s Choice Award for Favorite Cable TV Actress, and was nominated again in 2015, along with Ashley Benson. The series was also nominated for nine 2014 Teen Choice Awards with six wins, including a win for Choice TV Show – Drama for the series.

Based on the series of books by Sara Shepard, Pretty Little Liars is from Alloy Entertainment, Gaslight Productions and Russian Hill Productions in association with Warner Horizon Television. The executive producers are I. Marlene King (Just My Luck, If These Walls Could Talk, Now and Then), Oliver Goldstick (Ugly Betty, Lipstick Jungle), Leslie Morgenstein (The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, Gossip Girl) and Joseph Dougherty (thirtysomething, Saving Grace).

⃰Source: Nielsen Galaxy Explorer, Live+Same Day Total US ratings, 6/10-8/26/14.  ABC Family ranker includes new episodes of original series only.

DVD BONUS FEATURES

        Good Girls, Bad Lies: The Stronger PLLs– new featurette

        Pretty Little Liars: The Guys Are Back! – new featurette

        Celebrating a Pretty 100th – featurette

        Christmas in Rosewood: Designing the Ice Ball – featurette

        We Love You to DeAth – Fan Appreciation Episode

        Deleted Scenes

25 ONE-HOUR EPISODES

1.     EscApe from New York

2.     Whirly Girlie

3.     Surfing the Aftershocks

4.     Thrown from the Ride

5.     Miss Me x 100

6.     Run, Ali, Run

7.     The Silence of E. Lamb

8.     Scream for Me

9.     March of Crimes

10.  A Dark Ali

11.  No One Here Can Love or Understand Me

12.  Taking This One to the Grave

13.  How the ‘A’ Stole Christmas

14.  Through a Glass, Darkly

15.  Fresh Meat

16.  Over a Barrel

17.  The Bin of Sin

18.  Oh, What Hard Luck Stories They All Hand Me

19.  Out, Damned Spot

20.  Pretty Isn’t the Point

21.  Bloody Hell

22.  To Plea or Not to Plea

23.  The Melody Lingers On

24.  I’m a Good Girl, I Am

25.  Welcome to the Dollhouse

BASICS

Street Date: June 2, 2015

Order Due Date: April 28, 2015

Running Time: Feature: Approx.1,100 min., Special Features: Approx. 90 min.

Price: $59.98 SRP

6 DVD-9s

Audio –English (5.1)

Subtitles – French, Spanish, English

Presented in16x9 Aspect Ratio

Catalog # 1000531108

UPC # 883929448531

About Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Inc.

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE) brings together Warner Bros. Entertainment's home video, digital distribution and interactive entertainment businesses in order to maximize current and next-generation distribution scenarios. An industry leader since its inception, WBHE oversees the global distribution of content through packaged goods (Blu-ray Disc™ and DVD) and digital media in the form of electronic sell-through and video-on-demand via cable, satellite, online and mobile channels, and is a significant developer and publisher for console and online video game titles worldwide. WBHE distributes its product through third party retail partners and licensees, as well as directly to consumers through WBShop.com and WB Ultra.

Video Clips:

“Accusations”

TRT – 1:23

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_Accusations_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_Accusations_360.mp4

“Can I Help You?”

TRT – 1:15

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_CanIHelpYou_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_CanIHelpYou_360.mp4

“Cut The Cord”

TRT - :42

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_CutTheCord_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_CutTheCord_360.mp4

“Don’t Do This To Me”

TRT - :44

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_DontDoThisToMe_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_DontDoThisToMe_360.mp4

“Game Over”

TRT - :35

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_GameOver_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_GameOver_360.mp4

“I’m Back And I’m Staying”

TRT – 1:26

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_ImBackAndImStaying_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_ImBackAndImStaying_360.mp4

“Lack Of Evidence”

TRT - :58

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_LackOfEvidence_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_LackOfEvidence_360.mp4

“Press Conference”

TRT – 1:21

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_PressConference_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_PressConference_360.mp4

“She’s Mona”

TRT - :41

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_ShesMona_1080.mp4 

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_ShesMona_360.mp4

“Spooked”

TRT – 1:15

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_Spooked_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_Spooked_360.mp4

“Stay Out Of My Room”

TRT - :32

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_StayOutOfMyRoom_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_StayOutOfMyRoom_360.mp4

“The Final Curtain”

TRT – 1:11

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_TheFinalCurtain_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_TheFinalCurtain_360.mp4

“To Plea Or Not To Plea”

TRT – 1:11

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_ToPleaOrNotToPlea_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_ToPleaOrNotToPlea_360.mp4

“Welcome Home”

TRT - :53

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_WelcomeHome_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_WelcomeHome_360.mp4

“What Are You Doing Here?”

TRT – :41

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_WhatAreYouDoingHere_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_WhatAreYouDoingHere_360.mp4

“Why Would You Do That?”

TRT – 1:00

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_WhyWouldYouDoThat_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_WhyWouldYouDoThat_360.mp4

“You’re Married”

TRT - :47

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_YoureMarried_1080.mp4

http://castagnolaproductions.com/WB/PLL_S5/PLL_S5_YoureMarried_360.mp4

We need more episode guide recap writers, article writers, MS FrontPage and Web Expression users, graphics designers, and more, so please email us if you can help out!  More volunteers always needed!  Thanks!

Page updated 6/1/15

Back to the Main Primetime TV Page

ComedyDramaSci fi and FantasySoap OperasCompetition


Google
 
Web SEARCH THE TV MEGASITE
Bookmark this section!
 
HomeDaytimePrimetimeTradingSite MapBuy!What's New!
Join UsAbout UsContactContestsBlogHelpCommunity