Review of "The Originals: The Complete 2nd Season Blu-ray" From The TV MegaSite
 

The TV MegaSite, Inc.  TV Is Our Life!



Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!





Quantcast

MainNewsInterviews & ArticlesReviewsOur ShowsLinksCommunityStarsPolls
AutographsPhotosWallpapersPuzzles & GamesEpisode GuidesVideosOtherBuy!


WELCOME to The TVMEGASITE.NET
Primetime TV DVD Reviews Pages

 DVD Reviews


The Originals: The Complete Second Season Blu-ray cover

 

The Originals: The Complete Second Season Blu-ray

 Review by Suzanne Lanoue 9/5/15

As a long-time fan of "The Vampire Diaries," I loved the Mikaelson family when they were on that show, and it was great to see them spin off into their own series. I started watching it the first season, but then I fell behind, but I always intended to catch up. Since Warner Brothers sent me this DVD, it forced me to finally sit down and figure out which episodes I hadn't finished watching in the first season, so I could watch them and then watch this DVD! I'm glad to be all caught up now and ready for the third season.

The fun thing about both of these shows is that they're all "evil vampires" or werewolves or witches, yet they all have moments of kindness, humanity and even nobility as well as sadness and vulnerability. They may not be your typical "good guys," but they are often the ones in the right or the heroes of the show.

Klaus and Elijah returned to New Orleans in the first season so that Klaus could take back "his" town from Marcel. The witches made sure that the werewolf girl Hayley got pregnant by Klaus. Klaus pretended not to care about any of that, but Elijah cared deeply for both Hayley and the baby, so he had to protect them. At the end of the first season, Hayley had her baby, which was kidnapped by the witches, who tried to kill it. They rescued the baby but had to send it away with Rebekah to keep it safe. Hayley is now a hybrid - both vampire and werewolf (just like Klaus). We met human Cami and her beloved uncle. Her uncle died, and although she and Klaus were attracted to each other, she slept with Marcel.

This season, they have to deal with both their father and mother coming back from the dead, and more witchery.  Klaus and Hayley grow closer as she and Elijah grow farther apart. Cami and Marcel seem to be the only happiness going on in the town.

Just like last season, new characters are introduced, and the plot twists and turns. Not everyone lives by the end of the season! I really enjoyed it, though.

I like that this show doesn't seem to be quite as violent and sad as "The Vampire Diaries" has become.  Above all, the Mikaelson siblings are a family and love each other (even though sometimes they hate and try to kill each other). The actors do a fantastic job, and most of them are gorgeous and sexy, too.

You should definitely watch this DVD! I can't wait for season 3.

MORE INFORMATION:

“The Originals has to be one of the most complicated portrayals of family on television. But it also has to be one of the best.” – Entertainment Weekly

THE ORIGINALS:

THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON

Take a Bite Out of the Blu-ray™ and DVD

on September 1, 2015

Contains All 22 Episodes From The Second Season Plus

Never-Before-Seen Featurettes And Much More!

BURBANK, CA (June 2, 2015) – Ready to feast on this? Just in time for the season three premiere on The CW, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment will release The Originals: The Complete Second Season on Blu-rayTM and DVD on September 1, 2015.  Season Two is also available to purchase on Digital HD. Averaging nearly 2.2 million viewers weekly, The Originals is one of The CW’s top shows this season.*  Fans can get sucked in all over again on all 22 one-hour episodes from season two, plus over an hour of gripping extras — including the 2014 Comic-Con panel, featurettes, behind the scenes, deleted scenes, and a gag reel. The Originals: The Complete Second Season will be priced to own on DVD at $44.98 SRP and on Blu-ray at $49.99 SRP. 

As Original vampire-werewolf hybrid Klaus Mikaelson returned to the vibrant, supernaturally charged city of New Orleans in season one, he was stunned to learn — along with his siblings Elijah and Rebekah — that Hayley, a werewolf, was pregnant with his child, and his vampire protégé, Marcel, whom the Original siblings had thought long dead, was ruling the French Quarter. Soon, a bloody war escalated between vampires and witches — the stakes raised by powerful teenage witch Davina and by Klaus’s bond with Cami, a student with a painful past — and a ruthless pack of wolves seized the opportunity to stage a violent coup. Now, in season two, a new status quo must be adjusted to, as the newly empowered werewolves control the city. Klaus struggles with weaknesses as Elijah desperately tries to save Hayley — now a hybrid — from a vicious spiral of self-destruction. Meanwhile, with the re-emergence of several Mikaelsons, “family is power” takes on new meaning.

With Blu-ray’s unsurpassed picture and sound, The Originals: The Complete Second Season Blu-ray release will include 1080p Full HD Video with DTS-HD Master Audio for English 5.1. The 3-disc Blu-ray will feature a high-definition Blu-ray and a Digital HD copy of all 22 episodes from Season Two.

 

Season Two of The Originals stars Joseph Morgan (The Vampire Diaries, Ben Hur), Daniel Gillies (The Vampire Diaries, Saving Hope), Phoebe Tonkin (The Vampire Diaries, The Secret Circle), Charles Michael Davis (Grey's Anatomy), Leah Pipes (Sorority Row), Danielle Campbell (Prison Break) and Yusuf Gatewood (The Interpreter), with Plec executive producing along with Michael Narducci (The Vampire Diaries, Medium) and Leslie Morgenstein (The Vampire Diaries, Pretty Little Liars). Created by Plec, the series is based in part on the character Klaus from The Vampire Diaries novels by L.J. Smith. The Originals will continue for a third season on The CW in fall 2015.

* Source: Nielsen Galaxy Explorer L+7 US AA%; excluding repeats, specials & breakouts; This Season = 14-15 Season =  09/29/2014-03/22/2015

SPECIAL FEATURES

        The Originals: Always and Forever

        In this featurette, we will hear from cast and creators on how season two explored new depths of what it means to be a family.

        The Awakening Web Series

        Explore this companion series on Kol Mikaelson (Nathaniel Buzolic) and his quest to form an alliance with the witches of New Orleans in 1914. Also, go behind the scenes with the cast and creators of the digital series.

        The Originals: 2014 Comic-Con Panel

        Come Visit Georgia PSA

        Deleted Scenes

        Gag Reel

22 ONE-HOUR EPISODES

1.     Rebirth

2.     Alive and Kicking

3.     Every Mother’s Son

4.     Live and Let Die

5.     Red Door

6.     Wheel Inside the Wheel

7.     Chasing the Devil’s Tail

8.     The Brothers That Care Forgot

9.     The Map of Moments

10. Gonna Set Your Flag on Fire

11. Brotherhood of the Damned

12. Sanctuary

13. The Devil is Damned

14. I Love You, Goodbye

15. They All Asked For You

16. Save My Soul

17. Exquisite Corpse

18. Night Has a Thousand Eyes

19. When the Levee Breaks

20. City Beneath the Sea

21. Fire with Fire

22. Ashes to Ashes

BASICS

Street Date: September 1, 2015

Running Time: Feature: Approx 968 min, Enhanced Content: approx 84 min

Blu-ray & DVD: Presented in 16x9 widescreen format

DVD

Price: $44.98 SRP

5 DVD-9s

DVD Audio – English (5.1)

DVD Subtitles – ESDH, Spanish, French

Catalog # 1000539256

UPC# 883929454525

BLU-RAY

Price: $49.99 SRP

3 BD-50s

Blu-ray Audio - 1080p Full HD Video, DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 – English

Blu-ray Subtitles – ESDH, French, Spanish

Catalog # 1000539281

UPC # 883929454594

About Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Inc.

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE) brings together Warner Bros. Entertainment's home video, digital distribution and interactive entertainment businesses in order to maximize current and next-generation distribution scenarios. An industry leader since its inception, WBHE oversees the global distribution of content through packaged goods (Blu-ray Disc™ and DVD) and digital media in the form of electronic sell-through and video-on-demand via cable, satellite, online and mobile channels, and is a significant developer and publisher for console and online video game titles worldwide. WBHE distributes its product through third party retail partners and licensees.


We need more episode guide recap writers, article writers, MS FrontPage and Web Expression users, graphics designers, and more, so please email us if you can help out!  More volunteers always needed!  Thanks!

Page updated 9/8/15

Back to the Main Primetime TV Page

ComedyDramaSci fi and FantasySoap OperasCompetition


Google
 
Web SEARCH THE TV MEGASITE
Bookmark this section!
 
HomeDaytimePrimetimeTradingSite MapBuy!What's New!
Join UsAbout UsContactContestsBlogHelpCommunity