Review of "Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season" From The TV MegaSite
 

The TV MegaSite, Inc.  TV Is Our Life!




Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!





Quantcast

MainNewsInterviews & ArticlesReviewsOur ShowsLinksCommunityStarsPolls
AutographsPhotosWallpapersPuzzles & GamesEpisode GuidesVideosOtherBuy!


WELCOME to The TVMEGASITE.NET
Primetime TV DVD Reviews Pages

 DVD Reviews


Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season DVD cover

 

  Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season

 Review by Suzanne Lanoue 11/10/18

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this post. The opinions I share are my own.

I have loved the entire "Longmire" series, and I'm so sad to see it end. I'm very grateful that Netflix gave it 3 more seasons, and this DVD has the final ending. I know that some fans weren't all that keen on the ending, but I liked it. There are always complainers! I'm very happy about the way they ended things with Walt and Vic.

I grew up watching westerns, and "Longmire" always reminded me of the ones I used to watch. The lead actor, Robert Taylor, always reminds me a bit of Lee Majors. However, the series is way better than anything that was on TV back when I was growing up. The acting, the writing, and the cinematography are all outstanding. It deals with modern subjects in a western setting, and the Native Americans are not all the bad guys. Characters on TV nowadays are not black and white, like they were back then, but Sheriff Longmire and his deputies are about as good as any heroes as you're going to get in today's TV. They have their flaws, sure, but they do the right thing.

This season is a great followup to the previous one.  Sadly, we didn't see the return of Ally Walker or Barry Sloane, but there was plenty for the rest of the cast to do. I really miss this show and the actors on it. I loved the relationships between Walt and Henry, and Walt and Vic, among others. They just don't make such rich characters on TV that often.

You should watch the whole series if you haven't already. You are missing out! This is one of the best shows of the century. I'm not exaggerating.

The only drawback to the DVD set is that there are no extras or features. You just get the series itself. That's a shame. The previous DVD's definitely had a lot more. You might want to buy the complete set instead to get more for your money.

MORE INFORMATION:

Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season - Enjoy the thrilling last ride on DVD 11/20!

SUSPENSE PEAKS AS WARNER BROS. HOME ENTERTAINMENT RELEASES

LONGMIRE: THE SIXTH AND FINAL SEASON
ON DVD AND DIGITAL NOVEMBER 20, 2018
Featuring All 10 Episodes of the Beloved Series Final Season
GET THE BLU-RAYTM VIA WARNER ARCHIVE COLLECTION
Longmire: The Complete Series, Featuring All Six Seasons, Will Also Be Available Day-and-Date
BURBANK, CA (August 8, 2018) – The devoted fans of Sheriff Walt Longmire will get to enjoy his thrilling last ride as Warner Bros. Home Entertainment releases Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season on DVD. All 10 episodes of the Western crime drama’s riveting final season will be available on November 20, 2018 for $24.98 SRP. All six seasons will also be available for fans to own in one complete set. Longmire: The Complete Series will retail for $99.99 SRP on November 20th. In addition, Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season is available on Blu-rayTM courtesy of Warner Archive Collection. The Blu-rayTM release includes all 10 one-hour episodes, and is also arriving November 20, 2018. Warner Archive Blu-ray releases are found at wb.com/warnerarchive and your favorite online retailer.
Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season will be available to own November 20, 2018 on Digital via purchase from digital retailers.

Season Six of Longmire finds Wyoming Sheriff Walt Longmire (Robert Taylor), his deputies Vic Moretti (Katee Sackhoff) and The Ferg (Adam Bartley), his best friend Henry Standing Bear (Lou Diamond Phillips), and daughter Cady (Cassidy Freeman) facing the biggest personal and professional crises of their lives. Walt’s job and home are under threat by a powerful, unscrupulous lawyer. Vic must decide what to do about her secret pregnancy. Ferg struggles to balance a new relationship with his commitment to his job.  Cady is torn between her loyalties to her father and Jacob Nighthorse (A Martinez).  Henry’s life is in danger with an old nemesis bent on revenge.  With their world in turmoil, Walt and everyone he cares about must ultimately face the most difficult decision of their lives: Is it time to pack it in?  Or will they fight to the end?

From executive producers Hunt Baldwin (The Closer), and John Coveny (The Closer), Greer Shephard (The Closer, Nip Tuck), and Michael M. Robin (The Closer, Dallas, NYPD Blue), the thrilling sixth and final season stars Robert Taylor (Focus), Katee Sackhoff (Riddick), Lou Diamond Phillips (La Bamba), Cassidy Freeman (Smallville) and Adam Bartley (NCIS: Los Angeles) in the roles fans fought to be brought to Netflix. Based on the “Walt Longmire” series of mystery novels written by best-selling author Craig Johnson, Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season marks the series’ third season on Netflix after the 2014 move from A&E.

“We are thrilled to bring one of the most devoted fanbases the final episodes of the beloved Longmire series,” said Rosemary Markson, WBHE Senior Vice President, Television Marketing. “The release of Longmire: The Sixth and Final Season will complete the collection for fans who have been devoted to this Western suspense-thriller and ensure that they receive a proper ending to the drama.”
10 One-Hour Episodes
  1. The Eagle and the Osprey
  2. Fever
  3. Thank You, Victoria
  4. A Thing I'll Never Understand
  5. Burned Up My Tears
  6. No Greater Character Endorsement
  7. Opiates and Antibiotics
  8. Cowboy Bill
  9. Running Eagle Challenge
  10. Goodbye Is Always Implied
ABOUT DIGITAL
The sixth and final season of Longmire will also be available to own on Digital on November 20, 2018. Digital purchase allows consumers to instantly stream and download all episodes to watch anywhere and anytime on their favorite devices.  Digital movies and TV shows are available from various digital retailers including Amazon Video, iTunes, Google Play, Vudu and others.
BASICS
Longmire: The Complete Sixth and Final Season
Street Date: November 20, 2018
Run Time: Approximately 631 minutes (10 episodes)
2 DVD-9s
Language: English (5.1)
Subtitles: ESDH, French, Spanish
Presented in 16x9 Widescreen Format
DVD Price: $24.98 SRP
Longmire: The Complete Series
Street Date: November 20, 2018
15 DVD-9s
Language: English (5.1)
Subtitles: ESDH, French, Spanish
Presented in 16x9 Widescreen Format
DVD Price: $99.99 SRP
About Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Inc.
Warner Bros. Home Entertainment (WBHE) brings together Warner Bros. Entertainment's home video, digital distribution and interactive entertainment businesses in order to maximize current and next-generation distribution scenarios. An industry leader since its inception, WBHE oversees the global distribution of content through packaged goods (Blu-ray Disc™ and DVD) and digital media in the form of electronic sell-through and video-on-demand via cable, satellite, online and mobile channels, and is a significant developer and publisher for console and online video game titles worldwide. WBHE distributes its product through third party retail partners and licensees.
About Warner Archive Collection
Warner Archive Collection (WAC) continues to serve as host to some of the most beloved films, television series and animated entertainment in history – and many are now available on Blu-ray. WAC’s canon runs the gamut from restored and remastered Blu-ray classics such as The Americanization of Emily, The Big Sleep, The Great Race, She Wore a Yellow Ribbon, Victor/Victoria and Yankee Doodle Dandy to adored TV offerings such as Longmire (on Blu-ray), Alice and Family Matters (on DVD) to feature-length animated films, including the recent Blu-ray release of Batman: Mask of the Phantasm, to animated TV series headed by recent Blu-ray releases such as Justice League Unlimited, Teen Titans, Batman: The Brave and the Bold and Young Justice, as well as a wealth of classic animated series on DVD including dozens of Hanna-Barbera classics. WAC offerings can be found via wb.com/warnerarchive and your favorite online retailer.

We need more episode guide recap writers, article writers, MS FrontPage and Web Expression users, graphics designers, and more, so please email us if you can help out!  More volunteers always needed!  Thanks!

Page updated 1/6/19

Back to the Main Primetime TV Page

ComedyDramaSci fi and FantasySoap OperasCompetition


Google
 
Web SEARCH THE TV MEGASITE
Bookmark this section!
 
HomeDaytimePrimetimeTradingSite MapBuy!What's New!
Join UsAbout UsContactContestsBlogHelpCommunity