Review of "Archer" on FX From The TV MegaSite
The TV MegaSite banner

Happy Holidays from The TV MegaSite!
Check out our

Holiday Gift Guide!

 Reviews and Articles banner

Welcome to The TV MegaSite's Primetime TV Site!

(Best viewed in the most recent browser versions--update now!)

Please click on the menus above to browse through our site...

The TV MegaSite--TV Is Our Life (Logo)

PLEASE CLICK TO DONATE TO OUR SITE!!!!



 

 

Primetime Show Reviews

Archer pic

"Archer" review by Suzanne
Thursdays 10pm on FX

If you like cartoons, you will probably enjoy "Archer". It is about spies, but it is silly and sometimes clever. Personally, I don't think it's all that funny, but humor is very subjective. It's no "Get Smart", let's put it that way.

Apparently it has a lot of fans. It starts its second season on FX this week. Don't miss it if you enjoy clever cartoons. It reminds me of a lot of the dumb cartoons on Comedy Central (but less gross than many of those are).

The voices used on the show are very good and include some fine actors like Aisha Tyler, Jessica Walter, and George Coe. The drawing is very good, and FX works hard to promote the show and make it look cool for scifi geeks and other people who like spy shows.

Check it out!

We have tons of news, video clips and more on our Primetime Forum

Episodes:

Episode 1: "Swiss Miss" (Airs 1/27/11) In yet another attempt to secure funding for ISIS, Malory drags her agents to the luxury winter resort town of Gstaad to protect a Swiss billionaire's daughter from a kidnapping threat.  But Archer soon finds out the real threat is his protectee: an underage nyphomaniac who will stop at nothing to bed the world's greatest spy.

Episode 2: "A Going Concern" (Airs 2/3/11) After Malory is wiped out in a Ponzi scheme, she hatches a scheme of her own: selling ISIS -- lock, stock and snack machines -- to archival spy agency ODIN.  Archer and the rest of the ISIS employees, rightfully fearing for their jobs, must use every trick in the book (ISIS Field Manual, 3rd Edition) to try to stop the sale.

Episode 3: "Blood Test" (Airs 2/10/11) Archer is in for a huge (well, about ten pounds) surprise when his favorite call girl, Trinette, shows up at ISIS with a bouncing baby boy on her hip.  And a subpeona for a paternity test in her purse.  Is Archer the father of the wee baby Seamus? Well, that's what the paternity test is for. That's why they have those.

Episode 4: "Pipeline Fever" (Airs 2/17/11) While Malory tries to make ISIS a great workplace, Archer and lana head to the Louisiana bayous to prevent a dangerous eco-terrorist from bombing America's largest natural gas pipeline.  Archer's equipment checklist for the mission will include an airboat, a sawn off shotgun, a compound bow, and nine cases of beer.

Episode 5: "The Double Deuce" (Airs 2/24/11) When members of Woodhouse's famed WWI Royal Flying Corps squadron (the old "Double Deuce") start dying mysteriously, he naturally suspects foul play.  As does Archer, who tries to help his loyal manservant track down the killer.  While also babysitting the wee baby Seamus. So it should be a fun weekend.

Episode 6: "Tragical History" (Airs 3/3/11) Tired of his colleagues constantly calling him a failure, Cyril agrees to help George Spelvin, a mysterious computer security expert, inject a virus into the ISIS mainframe so Cyril can defeat the virus and be seen as a hero.  Not surprisingly, the plan goes awry: Cyril didn't count on sexy, bikini-clad ninjas.

Episode 7: ""Movie Star" (Airs 3/10/11) The normal childish squabbles, sneaky backbiting, and petty jealousies at ISIS are multiplied exponentially when a famous Hollywood actress, Rona Thorne, spends a week shadowing the agents as resarching for an upcoming role in a spy movie.  A movie in which Malory would - and may - literally kill to land a part.

I have watched the season finale for April 21st, "Double Trouble" and it is pretty funny. It was a good finale cliff-hanger for any TV show, too. I think sometimes for a cartoon, or maybe any comedy, I have to be in the right mood to appreciate it. That's probably the case for this show. Sometimes you are just in the mood to watch something silly.

Interview with Jessica Walter of "Archer" on FX 1/24/11

Interview with Adam Reed and Aisha Tyler of "Archer" on FX 1/21/11

Back to the Main Reviews Page


Back to the Main Primetime TV Page

top


Updated 4/21/11

FEEDBACK

We don't read the guestbook very often, so please don't post QUESTIONS, only COMMENTS, if you want an answer. Feel free to email us with your questions by clicking on the Feedback link above! PLEASE SIGN-->

View and Sign My Guestbook Bravenet Guestbooks

HELP SUPPORT THESE GREAT CAUSES!


Stop Global Warming!

Click to help rescue animals!

Click here to help fight hunger!
Fight hunger and malnutrition.
Donate to Action Against Hunger today!

Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign
Join the Blue Ribbon Online Free Speech Campaign!

Click to donate to the Red Cross!
Please donate to the Red Cross to help disaster victims!

Support Wikipedia

Support Wikipedia    

Save the Net Now



Help Katrina Victims!


[an error occurred while processing this directive]