[an error occurred while processing this directive] 'Video Game Awards 2008' Primetime TV Show Articles From The TV MegaSite
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The TV MegaSite banner

Happy 4th of July Weekend!


Welcome to The TV MegaSite's Primetime TV Site!

(Best viewed in the most recent browser versions--update now!)

Please click on the menus above to browse through our site...

Bookmark this section!

The TV MegaSite--TV Is Our Life (Logo)


Primetime TV Articles

This is just an unofficial fan page, we have no connection to any shows or networks.

Please click here to vote for our site!
Click Here to Visit!


2-Hour Event Will Reveal Blockbuster World Premiere Footage For The Most Anticipated Releases
 Legendary Game Designer Will Wright To Be Honored With Gamer God Award

 Premieres Sunday, December 14 At 9:00 PM, ET

Press Release - Advisory Council - Video


New York, NY, November 13, 2008 – Spike TV announces the nominees and categories for the year’s most acclaimed celebration in the excellence of gaming – the 2008 “Video Game Awards.”  The sixth annual “VGAs” will bring together megastars from the worlds of video games, Hollywood, music, sports and more to celebrate the outstanding achievements within the video game industry over the past year.  The two-hour extravaganza will premiere LIVE on Spike TV Sunday, December 14 (9:00- 11:00 PM, ET/ tape delay west coast) from Sony Picture Studios in Culver City, CA.

The 2008 “Video Game Awards” will feature exclusive premiere footage from the industry’s most highly anticipated releases.  On VGA.Spike.com, Spike TV will reveal one, new world-premiere each Wednesday leading up to the live telecast on December 14.  The very first exclusive to be announced is EA Sports’ Fight Night Round 4.  In addition, fans can log on to VGA.Spike.com view the latest, breaking news on this year’s event.

Leading the way with nine nominations, including a nod for Game of the Year, is Rockstar Games’ Grand Theft Auto 4, while LittleBigPlanet, Fallout 3 and Metal Gear Solid 4 all notched seven nominations.  November’s hottest release, Gears of War 2, garnered four nominations.  Below are a few of the nominees and categories, while the full list can be found at VGA.Spike.com. 

The celebration will also honor legendary game designer Will Wright with the Gamer God award for his groundbreaking achievements in the world of gaming.  The genius behind SimCity, The Sims, and 2008 mega-hit SPORE, Wright will mark the first ever winner of this prestigious honor.

Additionally, during tonight’s 9:00 PM presentation of “TNA: iMPACT!” on Spike TV, “GameTrailers TV” host Geoff Keighley will break-in live at 10:15 PM to announce additional categories and breaking news for the event.

Nominees and winners for Spike TV’s 2008 “Video Game Awards” were determined by the VGA Advisory Council, made up of a group of the most, well-respected experts in the industry.  Games released between December 2, 2007 and December 1, 2008 were eligible for nomination.  The Best Independent Game Fueled by Dew winner will be selected by fans that vote on VGA.Spike.com.

The official sponsors of Spike TV’s 2008 “Video Game Awards” are Burger King®, GameStop™, Gillette®, Energizer®, Mountain Dew, Stride® Gum and Verizon Wireless.

Following are a few of the nominees and categories for Spike TV’s 2008 “Video Game Awards:”

Grand Theft Auto IV (Rockstar Games/ Rockstar North)
LittleBigPlanet (Sony Computer Entertainment/ Media Molecule)
Fallout 3 (Bethesda Softworks/ Bethesda Game Studios)
Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots (Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc/ Kojima Productions)
Gears of War 2 (Microsoft Game Studios/ Epic Games)

Media Molecule
Rockstar North
Bethesda Game Studios

Rock Band 2 (MTV Games/ Harmonix)
Guitar Hero World Tour (RedOctane/ Activision Publishing/ Neversoft Entertainment)
Wii Music (Nintendo/ Nintendo)
SingStar (Sony Computer Entertainment/ SCE Studios London)

Albie Hecht, Oscar®-nominated producer and co-creator of the “Kids’ Choice” and “Video Game Awards,” and Casey Patterson, senior vice president, event production & talent development for Spike TV will serve as executive producers of Spike TV’s 2008 “Video Game Awards.”  Greg Sills is supervising producer, Alicia Portugal is executive in charge of production.

Spike TV is available in 97.7 million homes and is a division of MTV Networks.  A unit of Viacom (NYSE: VIA, VIA.B), MTV Networks is one of the world’s leading creators of programming and content across all media platforms. Spike TV’s Internet address is www.spike.com and for up-to-the-minute and archival press information and photographs, visit Spike TV's press site at http://www.spike.com/press.

Back to top

2008 VGA Advisory Council

Geoff Keighley (Host / Executive Producer, SPIKETV)
Ricardo Torres  (Co-Editorial Director, GameSpot.com)
Stephen Totilo  (Reporter, MTV News)
Andy McNamara (Editor in Chief, Game Informer Magazine)
Brian Crecente  (Managing Editor, Kotaku)
Christopher Grant  (Editor in Chief, Joystiq)
Chris Baker  (Senior Editor, Wired Magazine)
Brandon Boyer  (Editor, Offworld.com)
Tal Blevins  (VP Games Content, IGN Entertainment)
Shane Satterfield  (Editor in Chief, GameTrailers)
Sam Kennedy  (Editor in Chief, 1UP.com)
Chris Kohler  (Editor, Game|Life)
Bryn Williams  (Managing Editor, GameSpy)
Eric Bratcher  (Executive Editor, GamesRadar US)
Francesca Reyes  (Editor in Chief, Official Xbox Magazine)
John Davison  (President & Co-Founder, What They Like)
Libe Goad (Editor in Chief, AOL GameDaily)
Zoe Flower  (Managing Editor, What They Play)
Rob Smith  (Editor in Chief, PSM Magazine)
Nick Chester  (Editor in Chief, Destructoid)
Kristen Salvatore (Editor in Chief, PC Gamer)
N'Gai Croal  (Senior Writer, Newsweek)
Aaron Boulding  (Video Games Analyst, ESPN)
Scott Alexander  (Senior Editor, Playboy Magazine)
Mike Snider  (Entertainment Reporter, USA Today)
Brandon Sheffield  (Editor in Chief, Game Developers Magazine)
Jeff Gerstmann  (Editor in Chief, Giant Bomb)

Back to top


Back to the top

Back to the Main Primetime TV Page


Updated 11/14/08  

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]